Mui Ne Vietnam – the beautiful fishing village

I was dropped on my Vietnamese couch surfing host Ruby’s doorstep.  She owns a cafe called Zest cafe and stays in a little room joining the cafe, overlooking the fishing village in Mui Ne with the most amazing view of the boats and sunsets….i was blown away with the view….again another piece of heaven!!!

IMG_20130329_123919

the view from Ruby’s cafe Zest

the sunsets looked like this every night ;-)

the sunsets looked like this every night 😉

Mui Ne is the Russian resort capital of Vietnam.  The strong sea breeze makes it very popular for kitesurfing and windsurfing which i wanted to attempt but i just never got around to.  It is also best known for the red and white sand dunes and fresh seafood.

beautiful red sand dunes

beautiful red sand dunes

fresh fish

fresh fish

I was lucky enough to be staying in the ‘old’ Mui Ne (the fishing village) where the ‘real’ Vietnamese people live and which is 7km away from the ‘new’ Mui Ne where all the Russian tourists and backpackers are.

IMG_20130330_041612

I honestly didn’t do much the whole time in Mui Ne so i hardly have anything to write about.  I spent 4 days and 3 nights with Ruby and a Russian guy Sergio just chilling at her cafe, playing DJ whilst overlooking the splendid view of colourful fishing boats on the water….it was soooooooo relaxing and Ruby was just amazing.  Honestly one of the best times i’ve had and again just reassurance that this couch surfing thing suits me better than the usual backpackers house!!!!

one Russian, one Vietnamese and one South African ;-)

one Russian, one Vietnamese and one South African 😉

One of the days Sergio, another Russian guy and myself took a ride even further out of town to the sand dunes.  It felt like we had suddenly been transported into a desert!!!  We walked for 15 minutes on the hot dunes in 40 degrees heat (i thought i was going to pass out) until we reached a secluded beach cove that nobody goes to and we spent a few hours just swimming and loving life.

trek to our secluded beach

trek to our secluded beach

our secluded beach

our secluded beach

having fun in a stranded fishing boat on our private beach

having fun in a stranded fishing boat on our private beach

IMG_20130330_034133

On my last night in Mui Ne i took Ruby’s bike and drove through the ‘new’ Mui Ne for the first time and it was just full of tourists…it was AWFUL!!!!!  I was so grateful that for 4 days i had not been thrown into that mix otherwise i am not sure i would have loved Mui Ne so much.

Bright and early on my last morning i headed down the path from Ruby’s cafe to the fishing village to take some pictures of the fisherman returning from their early morning sea trip, bringing in there catch.  The fishing village is, like much of Vietnam, organized chaos. Hundreds of fishermen and women come to shore, and hundreds of local families, merchants, restaurants and more swarm the beach for the best catch. Everything you can imagine — and some you probably couldn’t — are available here.  These are sorted into groups, which they later go through keeping what is eatable, throwing away all else.

a whole family working to bring the fresh fish in

a whole family working to bring the fresh fish in

photo-289

sorting the fish

sorting the fish

IMG_20130330_033640

IMG_20130330_033841

Oh a random thing that happened to me… Ruby and i went for dinner at a street food cafe and there was this little chubby Vietnamese boy who i said hello to and from then on he clung to me.  He kept wrapping my arms around him.  He was so little that he wasn’t even talking yet and in Vietnamese the father told Ruby that normally he is shy of strangers but for some reason he just loved me.  I would have liked to take a picture of him as he reminded me of a SUMO wrestler haha …he was just adorable!!!!!

Oh and i decided to go out of my comfort zone and try Crocodile in Mui Ne!!!!  It tasted like chicken mostly and then sometimes a bit of a fish taste came through so was odd but it actually was really good.

Collage 2013-03-29 12_46_41

BBQ Crocodile 😉

The Russian, Sergio kept telling me everyday that he wanted to take me and meet his friend…i kept saying yes yes tomorrow.  I had told him how i liked to take pictures of the older generation and so i just assumed thats who he wanted me to meet, an older Vietnamese man he had become friends with…so off we set on the motorbike 10 min drive from where we were staying and this is who he wanted me to meet……

Collage 2013-03-30 04_06_16

me and the amazing Ruby ;-)

me and the amazing Ruby 😉

drinks one night out in Mui Ne ;-)

drinks one night out in Mui Ne 😉
random picture i took whilst playing with my camera settings....think it came out awesome!!!!

random picture i took whilst playing with my camera settings….think it came out awesome!!!!

IMG_20130330_041912

IMG_20130330_041539

So i sadly said goodbye to Mui Ne and Ruby and it was another 7 hour bus ride to Saigon 😉  I travelled with Sergio and it was the funniest trip… a Russian who speaks basic English and a South African who talks so fast that the poor Russian could never understand….brilliant trip listening to the Russian basically moaning at me cause i was talking and he didnt understand haha

Thanks for reading and comments really do make my day ;-)

