Siem Reap Cambodia

I’m running so far behind on my blogs that i can’t remember times anymore….i think it was a 7 or 8 hour bus journey from Phnom Penh.    I actually left Phnom Penh earlier than i had intended because i just didn’t really feel much interest there and i felt i was wasting my time just sitting around.

I had 2 nights before i had scheduled to book into my retreat so for my first night i decided to book into a place called Mad Monkey.  I haven’t really been drinking or going out the whole time that i have been travelling….i just haven’t felt like it but for some sudden reason i just felt like a good night out drinking…i had heard Mad Monkey was a party hostel so i booked one night there and i had an amazing night drinking on the roof top bar.  They had this board on the wall with a drink called a torpedo (a shot of jager, a shot of tequila and red bull in the glass.  You take the shot of tequila, the jager drops into the red bull and you down it).  Everytime you had one of these drinks your country got a point added next to it.  South Africa was not even on the list!!!!!!!!!!!  soooo i decided to have 1.  But then a guy from Wales decided he would start a war with me.  Apparently i got to number 8 (i beat him)…i say apparently because i know when i’m drunk and i know when its best to put myself to bed and so i woke up at 6am with the worst hangover ever…..ok i now know why i was happy not drinking these last few months!!!  But it was good to get it out of my system for that 1 night.

the devils drink

the devils drink

my enemy Wales who pushed me to drink so many ;-)

my enemy Wales who pushed me to drink so many 😉

i did it for my country haha

i did it for my country haha

Mad Monkey was fully booked so for my one last night before the retreat i had to go to another hostel which is fine because i knew i would be sleeping the whole day away with this awful hangover.  The hostel was ok, cheap, clean, and the food was good. I then went to the retreat which is another blog….after the retreat i decided to go back to the hostel i had just come from (Garden Village)….well biggest mistake ever. I got the same bed, same room but OMG it was disgusting….filthy and smelly.  I sat on the bed contemplating what i should do but even being on a cheap budget i was not prepared to stay in that room.  And i mean i never complain, i have stayed in questionable places since travelling but this was too much for even me….so i asked for a private room.  What i got wasn’t much better but i had paid for 2 nights so i just had to stick it out for that long.  After 2 dreadful nights in ‘hell’ i checked into a lovely dorm with a pool and it included breakfast, it was a bit pricier but I’m just at the point in my travels where i would rather spend that little bit extra and be happy.

this is the disgusting room i had to stay in!!!!

this is the disgusting room i had to stay in!!!!

One of the ladies i met at the retreat, Verona, 53 year old Australian women, we decided to see Angkor Wat together.  She is a guidance counselor, hippy, hilarious women and i just had the best day with her!!!!! Bright and early at 5am we have hired a tuk tuk driver for the day to take us to see the sun rise at Angkor Wat and a few other temple ruins.

Angkor Wat sun rise

Angkor Wat sun rise

The whole experience is breathtaking, watching the temple come alive before our eyes and revealing all the intricate carvings, even from this distance away was amazing.

IMG_20130419_043654

Angkor Wat, aka ‘City of Temples’, is the largest religious monument in the world, lying just a few miles north of Siem Reap. It was built in the 12th century, and shifted from Hindu to Buddhist use some one hundred years later.

IMG_20130419_042917

Verona and i visited 5 temples and that was enough for us.  There are loads but once you have seen a few they kind of start looking the same and you lose interest…unless thats your thing and plus the heat just kills you.  The main thing i wanted to see was the sunrise and i saw that so thats a tick off my list 😉
IMG_20130419_045221

IMG_20130419_050210

IMG_20130419_043557

I also decided to do a motor bike tour out of Siem Reap and into the poor villages…basically off the beaten track.  The houses are all built on high stilts around the river.  They are built on high stilts as during rainy season the water rises almost to the top of the stilts, its hard to believe as the stilts are so high.  Some of the houses are not on stilts and it is because these people cannot afford the wood to put them on stilts.  Their houses get flooded and i am actually not sure where they go and live.  I bought bags of sweets and we drove slowly through the villages giving the sweets out to the little kids.  It definitely was a highlight but very sad to see the poor conditions that these Khmer people live in.

houses on stilts

houses on stilts

you can see how poor these villages are

you can see how poor these villages are

motor bike tour team ;-)

motor bike tour team 😉

When i was in Mui Ne with the lovely Ruby i met her Russian friend Lisa, well Lisa contacted me saying she was passing through Cambodia so we had 2 wild nights out partying.  Was good fun to see her again.  Thanks Lisa for the great nights 😉

Lisa and me ;-)

Lisa and me 😉

a lovely night out in Siem Reap

a lovely night out in Siem Reap

So while in Siem Reap besides for wondering through the markets and chilling by the pool i also decided to help out at an orphanage…which you will have to wait for my next blog to read about.  So far Siem Reap is my favourite place in Cambodia, the people are lovely and friendly but i have to admit that Vietnam is still my favourite country.  Its weird cause i wanted to spend longer in Cambodia as i had heard it was the best country but i’m just not feeling it as much as i did in Vietnam but it could be down to me just being tired and run down from all the travelling.  Anyway i still have to get to Sihnoukville in Cambodia where i will be doing a 2 day live aboard diving…can’t wait!!!!!!!!!

A few of my favourite pictures from Siem Reap….

Khmer New Years celebrations

Khmer New Years celebrations

IMG_20130419_044020

a beautiful temple

a beautiful temple

the art work for sale

the art work for sale

a child begging at the temples

a child begging at the temples

IMG_20130419_043821
One thought on “Siem Reap Cambodia

  1. LOL – “Bubalass” the price paid to the piper, the day after the night before – the harder the drinking the bigger the buble. 🙂

    Beautiful pictures but 2 are not showing up for me (your disgusting room and the Angkor Wat sun rise). You can keep the disgusting room (I’ve had a few of them) but the sunrise I am looking forward to 🙂 No need to tell you to ‘Play hard and have a ball!’ seems you have that covered. XX

Thanks for reading and comments really do make my day ;-)

